Grace Mahoney is an Artist and Expressive Arts Coach who lives and works in Peterborough, Ontario.  She is also “a knitting ninja, crochet queen, heartfelt felter, wire wizard, crazy quilter, and busy beader and buttoner”.  Grace works out of a studio and workshop space in the historical Sadlier House, a student and community workspace affiliated with Trent University.  The space totally says, “come play with me!” and is where she regularly hosts workshops and coaching sessions.

Grace's studio at Sadlier House, Peterborough

Grace’s studio at Sadlier House, Peterborough

Much of Grace’s work is fibre-based, but she’d be the last person to limit herself to any one medium or process.  What would be the fun in that?  Grace’s work is very tactile – there’s lots of texture whether the piece is woven, beaded, or sculpted from wire.  It is also very colourful, hence the name of her business, Living in Colour.  As an Expressive Arts Coach Grace always practices what she preaches: a quick read of her blog reveals her reflective nature and the instinct to work through issues using whatever media is appropriate to the occasion.  Trees figure highly in her library of motifs, as does the theme of “home”.  The odd garden gnome will find his way in there too every once in a while!

Hand Woven Landscape by Grace Mahoney

Hand Woven Landscape by Grace Mahoney

Q – What is the one thing you would like viewers to understand about your work/art practice?

A – I create art from the heart.  After taking the Expressive Art Therapies Course at Fleming College, I know how art can work to create more than just a thing.  It can heal, build understanding, connect community and connect us to ourselves.  Most of my art connects me to a sense of home.

Q – What do you love about being an artist/the process of creating art?

I love how art can get me out of my head and using my hands to express something that words just can’t get at.  I love how accessible and fun it is but also how it can take me deep within to uncover and make meaning.

Q – What do you think is unique about Canadian art/being an artist living and working in Canada?

A – I love the diversity and how the landscape has become so entwined with the art.

Q – What is your favourite cottage country destination?

I live in cottage country.  I love the Canadian Shield.  If I need to get centred give me a big rock cut, a lake and trees. Anywhere will do it for me but I always want to go home.

You can see more of Grace’s work and get information about upcoming workshops by visiting her website, www.gracemahoney.ca and blog, livingincolourwithgrace.wordpress.com

Weaving and Wire Sculpture by Grace Mahoney

Weaving and Wire Sculpture by Grace Mahoney